recipe: whole chicken in a crockpot

I’m on a mission this summer to cook almost all of our meals either in the crockpot or on the grill!  I am all about doing whatever I can to keep the house cooler.  The summer is really the best time of the year to use your crockpot so you don’t have to heat up your kitchen with a hot oven!

photo

My friend Michelle introduced me to this recipe a few weeks ago when we had dinner at their house. She made cooking a whole chicken so easy that I felt like I could do it too!  And the best part is that you can also make homemade chicken stock after you are done cooking your chicken. win|win!

Ingredients:
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne (red) pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 onion
  • 1 large chicken
Instructions:
  1. Combine the dried spices in a small bowl.
  2. Loosely chop the onion and place it in the bottom of the slow cooker.
  3. Remove any giblets from the chicken and then rub the spice mixture all over. You can even put some of the spices inside the cavity and under the skin covering the breasts.
  4. Put prepared chicken on top of the onions in the slow cooker, cover it, and turn it on to high. There is no need to add any liquid.
  5. Cook for 4 – 5 hours on high (for a 3 or 4 pound chicken) or until the chicken is falling off the bone.

**My 3.5lb chicken was done in about 3.5 hours.

Don’t forget to make your homemade stock with the leftover bones.

stock

Chicken Stock Instructions:

Ater you pick off the good chicken meat you can leave the bones in the crock pot to make some stock. After dinner add whatever you have on hand…bay leaf, carrot, celery, onion, parsley and/or thyme. If you are missing one of these ingredients it’s ok! I didn’t have an extra onion so I just left the cooked onion in the crockpot that I had cooked with the chicken. Then fill your crock pot to the top with water. Keep it on low all night and then in the morning strain the broth into several Tupperware containers to store in the freezer.

This recipe is super easy and tastes great! I love that I can make stock so easily. I wish I would have discovered this recipe years ago!

salad

// recipe source

One thought on “recipe: whole chicken in a crockpot

  1. I can’t wait to try this! I need to use my crock pot more. And I’ve always boiled the bones to make stock, but mine never comes out so dark. I’m going to try the crock pot method!

Leave a Reply

