sweet tea

I was lunching with a friend the other day…Ok let me stop right there before you think I am the “lady who lunches” and say that it was a playdate lunch at my friends house…….Anyways, my friend served me some sweet tea that I really liked. I honestly haven’t really ever thought to make it at home before. When we lived in Georgia we would occasionally get a galloon of sweet tea from somewhere like Chick-fil-a or Zaxby’s (THE BEST SWEET TEA EVER ya’ll) as a fun treat. HusBen and I both LOVE sweet tea but I think I assumed I would have to put tons of sugar in it for it to taste good. I loved the tea my friend made me and promptly asked for the recipe. It’s not too strong with just the right amount of sweet.

Naomi’s sweet tea

6 regular tea bags

1/8 tsp baking soda

2 cups boiling water

1/2 cup sugar

6 cups cold water

Place the tea bags in a large glass measuring cup and add the baking soda. Pour the boiling water over the tea bags. Cover and steep for 15 minutes. Take out the tea bags and do not squeeze them. Pour the tea mixture into a 2 quart pitcher and add the sugar. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. Add in the cold water. Chill in the refrigerator and serve over ice.

original recipe :: food.com

2 thoughts on “sweet tea

  1. I am a native northwesterner, and didn’t even know about sweet tea until after I was married and we were stationed in El Paso. Please tell me, what in the world is the baking soda for?

Leave a Reply

