greetings from OKLAHOMA!!

Our drive from Rhody to Oklahoma took four days and was UNEVENTFUL. Praise the Lord for that! The worst weather we had were a few cloudy days. It was definitely an easy drive compared to our last move.

My favorite part of our drive was getting to stop in PA and so we could visit with our friends Jessica and Chris. We met their family when we lived in Athens and I really miss getting to see them often. We got to stay in their new house which I LOVED. I could have moved right in! It was great being able to stop for the night somewhere other than a hotel so the kids could get to play. They have two boys too and they all played great together.

I really might need to rethink taking picture first thing in the morning without a lick of make-up on . Yikes!!

We stayed in OK over Christmas and then on New Years Eve we drove twelve hours to Colorado to visit Ben’s sister and her family for a week. It was a much needed break from moving and the stress of everything.

In case you can’t tell from this picture Noah was SUPER excited to be with his cousins. He was headed out to go sledding with the older cousins that day. Him and Coop are only four months apart.

The boys were glad to re-unite with their cousins after the fun beach trip we all took together this summer. Somehow we lucked out and had lots of 50 degree days. There was snow on the mountains and in all the yards but none on the roads. They live in such a beautiful town surrounded on every side by mountains. It’s very picturesque! I’m kind of kicking myself for not even taking my camera on our trip.  I’m hoping we can maybe make it back there this summer!

My friend mentioned the other day that we had been in OK for a month. I immediately thought,  “Really? That can’t be right!” I guess between moving, Christmas, our trip to CO, and then have a stomach bug for a week it has been a month in a half since we left Rhody. We’re settling in at the in-laws. Noah loves being here. Graham loves it too although he tells me a couple of times a week that he wants to go home. The other day he was crying and said, ” I want to go home. I can’t find my home. I lost it!” Poor kid. I think he is too young to understand that we live here now. Maybe getting our own house will help him with the transition, although that will probably be a few months off.  Ben and I are loving being here and staying with his parents. I actually get sad at the thought of moving into our own house. That probably sounds weird but since we’ve been away for so long it’s just nice to be around our family. I enjoy eating dinner together and having breakfast together on the weekends. It’s very nice to have an extra set of hands around to help with the boys. I am sure Ben’s parents will be looking forward to quiet dinners when we leave and not stepping on legos whenever they walk through their house! ha!! They have been very gracious hosts and I could definitely learn a lot from them in the hospitality department.

Every time I drive out of the neighborhood it hits me that we live here now. Such a good feeling! I love pounding the pavement of the city where I grew up. I went for a run this morning and I just kept praising the Lord over and over for this opportunity to come home. We have so many unknowns right now that makes life really overwhelming. But God is good and things are s-l-o-w-l-y falling into place. I’m trying to keep my focus where it should be and not let my mind wonder down the road of “what if’s?”.

“For I know the plans I have for you, ” declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

2 thoughts on “greetings from OKLAHOMA!!

Leave a Reply

