trail mix bars

This summer Ben showed me an article { in Runner’s World?} about the benefits of honey. There was a recipe for granola bars in the article that he wanted me to try and some how the article went missing soon after he showed it to me. Since I felt bad for losing the article I went in search of another granola bar recipe. I came up with this trail mix bar  which I think sounded even better than the original recipe I was supposed to make. Shhh, don’t tell!

I’ve made these trail mix bars twice now and the are SO good. I have been alternating between making these and the Energy Bites. It’s nice to have one or the other on hand for a healthy snack.

Trail Mix Bars::

3/4 cup honey

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4th tsp salt

2 T granulated sugar

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup oat bran

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

3/4 cup dried cherries, cranberries or berry blend (I used a blend of dried cherries, raspberries and currants)

::Combine the honey, vanilla, salt, sugar and peanut butter in a medium sized saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer and cook for about four minutes, stirring occasionally.

::In a large bowl, combine all other ingredients except for chocolate chips. Pour the boiling honey mixture over the oat mixture and toss well. Finally, add the chocolate chips and fold together (being careful not to overmix and melt the chocolate).

::Press mixture into loaf pans  and pat down with wet hands. I put some wax paper in the bottom for easy clean up! Chill in fridge for about half an hour, or until firm, before cutting into bars.

Thoughts on this recipe:: It’s a little tricky to add in the chocolate chips and not have them melt on you right away. The second time I made them I stuck the granola bar mixture in the fridge for a few minutes and then mixed in the chocolate chips. The chocolate still mostly melted right away even though the mixture didn’t seem that hot any more. Oh well! They are still delicious melted chocolate or not. Also we’ve made the recipe with the cranberries and without and Ben and I both prefer the bars without as pictured above. I left the cranberry’s in the recipe though just in case any of you are die hard cranberry fans.

I would highly suggest using the loaf pans to set your bars. The first time I made mine I used a 9×9 pan which mad for very thick bars. Then I ran across this post and loved the idea of using loaf pans instead. I think the loaf pans worked great and will definitely make them this way from now on.

adapted from: eat, live, run

3 thoughts on “trail mix bars

  1. Pingback: thankful thursdays | eatrunteach

Leave a Reply

